Share this page on
2016 Princess Margriet Award Back

2016 Princess Margriet Award

10 Jul 2016

The European Cultural Foundation is happy to announce the European Cultural Foundation Princess Margriet Award for Culture laureates for 2016: theatre-makers and community developers Krétakör (Budapest, Hungary) and citizen laboratory for digital culture Medialab-Prado (Madrid, Spain).

Krétakör and Medialab-Prado haven been chosen for the 2016 European Cultural Foundation Princess Margriet Award for Culture for their exceptional bodies of artistic and cultural work in developing critical spaces of social participation and political experimentation through culture.

By honouring these two laureates, the European Cultural Foundation is highlighting the importance of culture in creating a more open and inclusive Europe. This is a Europe that the European Cultural Foundation believes in and supports through its entire body of work, from its grant schemes and cultural managers’ exchange programme to its Connected Action for the Commons programme, which connects cultural change-makers at grassroots level and encourages new models of participation and democracy.

2016 Award Jury

  • Andreas Broeckmann (Curator, Leuphana Arts Program, Lüneburg/Berlin)
  • Bojana Cvejić (Performance theorist and maker, Brussels/Belgrade)
  • Chris Dercon (Director, Tate Modern, London)
  • Juan Freire (Founding Partner, Teamlabs and mmodulUS, Madrid)
  • Saskia van Stein (Director of Bureau Europa, platform for architecture & design, Maastricht)

In support of the Netherlands Presidency of the Council of the European Union during the first half of 2016 the European Cultural Foundation has decided to bring the Award ceremony, which is usually held in Brussels, to Amsterdam. The Award will be presented on 15 March 2016 in the Stadsschouwburg Amsterdam.

Website by HOAX Amsterdam