Share this page on
ECF Princess Margriet Award for Culture Back

ECF Princess Margriet Award for Culture

The annual award honours inspiring examples of people and organizations who, with courage and creative power, imagine new paths for Europe.

In honour of former ECF President Princess Margriet of the Netherlands, the European Cultural Foundation hosted eleven successful editions of the Princess Margriet Award for Culture, the annual award for inspiring people and organisations who imagined new paths for Europe. With the blessing of Princess Margriet as patron and namesake of the award, the European Cultural Foundation has developed the award into the Culture of Solidarity Fund fund that addresses the many challenges that Europe is now facing. 

The Princess Margriet Award has brought forth many important and esteemed laureates, you can view all the laureates below. 

2019: Democracy Needs Imagination

The laureates of the 2019 ECF Princess Margriet Award for Culture are Ahdaf Soueif (Cairo/London) & City of Women (Ljubljana).

The 2019 Award theme is Democracy Needs Imagination. The two laureates represent distinct cultural approaches, but both also offer a hopeful vision of democracy by redefining our understanding of culture and its capacity to improve a common European social reality.

The jury convened in early 2019 and the two laureates were announced on 9 May 2019, Europe Day. The Award was presented on 2 October 2019 in Amsterdam and includes a sum of € 25.000 per laureate.

History of the Award

The award was initiated in 2008 in honour of the foundation’s former President, HRH Princess Margriet of the Netherlands, who has shown enormous dedication to the important role of culture in invigorating democracy in Europe. The Award was established in partnership with the Dutch Ministry of Education, Culture and Science and the Dutch Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

For the last ten years, the ECF Princess Margriet Award for Culture has honoured laureates as diverse as the cultural fields in which they work. They come from the performing and visual arts, literature, music, film, cultural activism, critical thinking, architecture, digital and media culture. Brilliant, innovative, daring, compassionate – these individuals and collectives have shone out in their resolve to find a better way, even in the face of global upheaval, and to shape a future that is more fair and respectful of both people and the planet that we share.

All Awards

2019 |Ahdaf Soueif | City of Women

2018 |Borderland | Forensic Architecture

2017 |Aslı Erdoğan | Navid Kermani | Luc Mishalle | Marina Naprushkina

2016 |Krétakör | Medialab-Prado

2015 |Athens Biennale | Visual Culture Research Center

2014 |Teodor Celakoski | Teatro Valle Occupato

2013 |Yoel Gamzou | Lia & Dan Perjovschi

2012 |Charles Esche | John Akomfrah

2011 |Kutluğ Ataman | Šejla Kamerić

2010 |Borka Pavićević | Stefan Kaegi

2008 |Stuart Hall | Jerôme Bel & Pichet Klunchun


Website by HOAX Amsterdam