Supervisory Board

The Supervisory Board works closely with the management. Their responsibilities can be summarised as follows:

  • decide upon and evaluate the Foundation’s strategy, and prioritise its activities
  • evaluate the efficient use of the Foundation’s resources (approval of budget and Annual Report), and
  • appoint the Foundation’s Director, members of the Supervisory Board and the President

The Supervisory Board meets at least twice a year. It consists of a minimum of five and a maximum of twelve members, including a Treasurer, Chair and Vice-Chair. Both the Chair and the Vice-Chair act as the Foundation’s Vice-Presidents. The President is an Extraordinary Member of the Supervisory Board.

Members of the Supervisory Board are broadly representative of the wider Europe and of the disciplines and fields of activity related to our goals. They receive no remuneration for their activities on behalf of the Foundation but are entitled to reimbursement for the costs they incur in the performance of their duties. These reimbursements are listed and explained in the Annual Report.

Articles of Association of the European Cultural Foundation.

HRH Princess Laurentien of the NetherlandsNL
President of European Cultural Foundation and Extraordinary Member of the Board
Chair Ad Interim
Rien van GendtNL
Member of the Board of Rockefeller Philanthropy Advisors, New York
Rob DefaresNL
Chief Executive Officer, IMC International Marketmakers Combination, The Netherlands
Isabel AlçadaPT
Writer, Counselor to the President of the Republic, former Minister of Education, Portugal
Florian DautilFR
Chief Operations and Impact Officer, Bayes Impact, France
Gerry SaloleUK
Social Anthropologist
Andrea SilvestriIT
Managing Director, Fondazione Cassa Risparmio di Cuneo, Italy
Rana Zincir CelalTR/CY
Independent consultant, former Exec. Director, Atlantic Fellows for Social and Economic Equity program (LSE), United Kingdom